Converting Maps

Lithtech 2.1 / 2.2

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Converting Maps

Post by Spawn » Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:33 am

I've been doing some attempts to convert my garden.lta file into a ED file lately.. I tried to export it as a object and then import it again, but it didn't work very well. Do any of you have a suggestion about how this can be done?
Image

User avatar
Coty
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:40 am

Post by Coty » Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:31 pm

Talon's DEdit will read lta maps made with Jupiter. If you don't have AvP2, you can find a small download of the Talon tools for Purge here:

http://www.purgejihad.com/download_tools.shtml


Doesn't require the game to install and use :)

But I would also strongly suggest you download the free game...

http://www.purgejihad.com/trial.shtml

Coty
Image

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:42 pm

Thank you so much! I'll download this right away, and give it a try! I'll try the the game too of course :thumb:
I though that I had to rebuild the whole map to make it work in Nolf1
I guess Sauron will be happy soon :D

>Edited

one more question... I open the nolf.dep file as my project?
I just wondered because I just got a error when I tried..

I first tried to open the nolf1 prject and created a new map.. and tries to import a nolf2 lta file that I have prepared by deleting all of the objects.. So there are only the geometrie left in it..
the error message says: ]Error. Invalid file

Btw! The Purge Jihad game was really cool!
Image

User avatar
Coty
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:40 am

Post by Coty » Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:23 am

Get PurgeJihad tools (DEdit) working correctly for PurgeJihad, and then try to import the lta world into a new Purge map.

It does work.
Image

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:59 pm

Yes! I got it now!

Thanks for the help.. I really appreciate it :D
Image

User avatar
Coty
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:40 am

Post by Coty » Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:45 pm

You're Welcome B)

The Intel might have to be removed because that object is not reconized, but most of the other objects should port. It's really an object problem with converting. Even brushes have object properties, so you must load some sort of lto to reconize their properties. You need to save, close, and reopen to update the objects. Then CTRL-S save after it ask to update the objects and reopen again. This will give you the right properties after importing and won't ask you every time to update.
Image

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:02 am

So that explains the wierd looking brushes in the imported map!

I'll give this a try, and let you know how it goes :thumb:
Image

Legbat
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by Legbat » Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:46 pm

Coty - I hope you can help me with this Purge/Talon-related problem. I saw this thread and was instantly reeled in. Converting maps back and forth from NOLF 1 to NOLF 2 to CJ is something that I want to accomplish too. That way more people can see and play your custom maps that you worked so long and hard on! I followed your instructions (from PurgeWorld) about how to unpack the Purge resources but all I get is an error messege! I've tried over and over and all I get is this response:

ERROR! Disk error has occured (possibly drive is full)

I'm baffled and I hope you or anyone else out there has a clue.

PS - Just to be clear I copied/pasted the aforementioned directions below.

There is no unrez.bat in the Purge tools. You can make one by coping this and saving it in the Purge tools folder as a batch file. In notepad: SAVE AS, ALL FILES, Unrez.bat:
rem ----------------------------
rem Unrez the Purge resource files
rem ----------------------------

lithrez xv ..\PURGE.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGEBUTES.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGEMODELS.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGEDLL.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGESOUNDS.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGESPRITES.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGETEXTURES.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGEUI.REZ ..\PURGE
lithrez xv ..\PURGEPATCH.REZ ..\PURGE

PAUSE
Go to the tools folder and double click the unrez.bat.
Image

User avatar
Coty
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:40 am

Post by Coty » Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:49 pm

That one is old. It is for the origional Purge. Here is my Jihad version:
rem ----------------------------
rem Unrez the Purge Jyhad Resource Files
rem ----------------------------

lithrez xv ..\BUTES.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
lithrez xv ..\DLL.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\HUD.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\MODELS.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
lithrez xv ..\EXTRA.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\PRAYERS.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\SOUNDS.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\SPRITES.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\TEXTURES.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\UI.REZ ..\PurgeJihad
rem lithrez xv ..\VOICES.REZ ..\PurgeJihad

rem ---------------2.1.1b------------------------


Remove the rem statements for the first time. This was just mine for updating from a previous Jihad version.



Talon's Processor uses a DOS path to the project directory:

C:\Progra~1\Freefo~1\PurgeJ~1\PurgeJ~1


You're probably getting a "file not found" in unrez.bat
The unrez bat file should be in the same folder as lithrez.exe. Mine is in:

C:\Program Files\Freeform Interactive\Purge Jihad\Tools



It only imports lta worlds, not export. So it is a one way street. You can't go from ed to lta with Talon's DEdit. You would need to go ED>OBJ>LTA through 3dsm (obj>lta) to go the other way. This is the way I have done it. There may be an old world.ed import for 3dsm but I never installed one.


Hope this helps...



PS: Check out my Outland map for Purge :)

http://coty.port5.com/dedit/purge/ss.html
http://members.tripod.com/ga_cody/purge/outland.htm
Image

User avatar
(JAG)SAURON
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by (JAG)SAURON » Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:18 pm

Thanks Spawn :yourock:

I love the idea of seeing more of the maps that get released being ported acrosee all 3 games.

I am so looking forward to this.
Euroteamspeak Quality TS hosting at a fair price

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:24 pm

I'm using the purge demo and was able to open the project as a success when I used this custom bat file to unpack..
rem ----------------------------
rem Unrez the Purge Jyhad Resource Files
rem ----------------------------

lithrez xv ..\PURGE.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEBUTES.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEDLL.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEMODELS.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEEXTRA.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEWORLDS.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGESOUNDS.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGESPRITES.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGETEXTURES.REZ ..\Purge
lithrez xv ..\PURGEUI.REZ ..\Purge
I was able to do a successful import!

Thanks again Coty!

And yes Sauron, this looks better than the first attempt..
Image

Legbat
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by Legbat » Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:26 pm

That helped to an extent but something else must not be right. After unpacking all of the resources and going into the TEXTURES folder, there is only a folder called TERRAIN LIGHTMAPS with merely one texture called VAL_LIGHTMAP.dtx in it. The TEXTURES.rez file is 217,452KB in size. Shouldn't there be lots and lots of textures to choose from? Why would one and only one texture be extracted? My folders look just like this:

http://www.purgeworld.net/edit_settings.php

I'm sorry for not being able to figure this out on my own but believe me - I've tried everything I could think of.
Image

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:55 pm

oops! forgot to tell.. I copied the rez files into the purge directory :D
Image

Legbat
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by Legbat » Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:36 pm

Honestly I'm not sure what I did differently but after several attempts I got it to work! Thanks to Coty and Spawn for the help...
Image

User avatar
Coty
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:40 am

Post by Coty » Fri Oct 15, 2004 12:41 am

Purge and Purge Jihad are really two different games with 2 different demos. The One listed in that link was written for the origional Purge demo. The Purge Jihad demo is the same as the retail version with 4 characters locked out until you register. Unfortunately, Purge editing forum which stored my updates was lost about 2 weeks ago, but if you follow what I wrote up there you should get the jihad demo working correctly. The demo is 2.1.1b just like the retail.

Sorry for any confusion.

Here is s pic of my directory and working jihad retail game which should be the same as the jihad demo. I never had the jihad demo to really test it though:
Image

http://www.game-shock.com/~freeform/forum/

This is the new link to the new forum, but the editing section, I believe is gone. I haven't logged into this new one yet, so it might still be there, but I doubt it.
Image

Post Reply
jedwabna poszewka 50x60