Your first staircase

Lithtech Jupiter engine
Post Reply
User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Your first staircase

Post by Spawn » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:50 pm

A few useful tips when creating staircases

To gain full control over what you're working with, and to avoid mistakes during
building it.. I recommend that you create a empty world/prefab to build it in :)
(especially if it is a complex one with much detail or weird shapes)


The characters from nolf2 & Contract Jack can walk up a step that is
maximum 16 units high... A easy way to start is to divide the height from the
1st story floor to the 2nd story floor by 16 to get the number of steps needed..

example:

Image

It's a good idea to choose roomheights that will give you a whole decimal
when it is divided by 16, that makes things a lot easier :)
And I usually start from the top (2nd floor) with the steps because it makes
the copy/paste easier as well.

I'll build a simple 256 units high staircase in this demo, made of 16 steps and
128 units wide

Set the grid to 16 units and create a box that is 256x256x256 as a referance
(my box has a blue texture)
Level the marker with the top of the blue box and add another box which
will be the upper step. (I'll texture that one with a red texture)

Image

Now is a good time to map texture coordinates, otherwise you'll have to do it
to each of the steps later.. I'll just skip that part :)

Now place your marker leveled with the bottom corner of the step like I've done in
the next picture you'll see and copy/paste the box.

Image

Image

Repeat this step until you reach the same level of height as the bottom
of the blue box.

Image

Now select all the stairs and unjoin them (ctrl+J)

then unselect all and hold 'ctrl' while selecting all the surfaces you need visible.
after all of the wanted surfaces is selected, press (shift+J) to join them.

Image

Unselect everything again and select all of it, then unselect the surfaces you joined and hit 'delete' to get rid of the rest.

Image

You may change the width and length as you wish when you copy/paste it into
the level as long as the height is untouched..

Voila :thumb:
Image

User avatar
SAssER
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by SAssER » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:00 am

very nice tutorial, Spawn! I'll try that in my next map (if there will be one) :thumb:
Can you make a tutorial on "round staircases" too?
Image

btw. I also wondered how to make such realisitc looking ladders:


((awwsmile))
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
______________(?`'?.?( ? SAssER ? )?.?'??)_______________
Image
______________________________________________________

User avatar
sonic goo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:36 pm

Post by sonic goo » Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:31 pm

I've got sortof that kind of thing in my Fracas at the Factory map. If you'd like the ltc file to mess around with, just let me know. :)
Image

User avatar
Legbat
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by Legbat » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:32 pm

SAssER wrote:I also wondered how to make such realisitc looking ladders
If I'm not mistaken there is a prefab ladder in CJ that looks very much like the one in your photo.
Image

User avatar
Belladonna
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA!!

Post by Belladonna » Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:24 am

Wow, you know what, seeing those directions I finally figured out why I can't map. (Aside from being too lazy to figure it out) It's a mental thing. It reminds me of learning algebra in 9th grade and those blasted sin, cosign and tangent, figuring slopes that I never understood, getting yelled at by my teacher and father, creating constant tension and distress. Graph lines just freak me out! Sorry Spawn, as much as I'd like to, I don't think I'll be able to make a map. :mellow:

But thanks for providing help to those that don't have a weird childhood trauma that prevents them from mapping. :D
Image

User avatar
SAssER
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by SAssER » Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:49 pm

Well Legbat.. I do not have CJ.. I only got NOLF1 and 2 ((2)) :(
And Spawn once sent me a ladder looking like this.. But I want to know, how you made them :thumb:
______________(?`'?.?( ? SAssER ? )?.?'??)_______________
Image
______________________________________________________

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:18 pm

There's a ladder in UNDERWATERBASE-->Ladder 40x184x30 :)

well, how to make them.. ok then.. Give me a few minutes :)

Bella! I sucked at math on the school as well, that's why they invented the mobile
brain called calculator :P

Because there are many of our kind!
Image

User avatar
Legbat
Pegasus Modteam
Pegasus Modteam
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by Legbat » Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:00 pm

If I'm not mistaken, the majority of the prefabs in NOLF 2 and CJ were created with 3DSMax and imported into dEdit. Alot of those prefabs are so complex geometry-wise (e.g. curved cylinders) that they would take forever to produce or be altogether impossible to make using dEdit.
Image

User avatar
sonic goo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:36 pm

Post by sonic goo » Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:25 pm

Bella, that's not a graph, that's a staircase seen from the side! :)) :)) :))
Image

User avatar
Spawn
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Spawn » Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:52 pm

Legbat wrote: If I'm not mistaken, the majority of the prefabs in NOLF 2 and CJ were created with 3DSMax and imported into dEdit. Alot of those prefabs are so complex geometry-wise (e.g. curved cylinders) that they would take forever to produce or be altogether impossible to make using dEdit.
Yeah, you're right Legbat..

A lot of the prefabs in dedit is made with Maya/3dsm, unless you're as crazy as
me and a few others that prefer creating them with dedit :insane: lol

Built your ladder https://www.spawnsite.net/forum/viewto ... f=10&t=389, sasser :)

(um.. slightly modified)
Image

User avatar
SAssER
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:10 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by SAssER » Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:06 am

Thank you!! :thumb: :banana:
______________(?`'?.?( ? SAssER ? )?.?'??)_______________
Image
______________________________________________________

Post Reply